How to bookmark " Calendar 2015/2016"
You have arrived in Planet Myanmar. Would you prefer Planet Burma?
If so, please click HERE.

Planet Myanmar - Calendar 2015/2016
Britain-Myanmar Society
Regular meetings are at: the Medical Society of London, 11 Chandos Street, LONDON W.1.
Admission is 6.00 per person.
Meetings are confined to members and their guests - and are subject to reporting restrictions.
NB - Click HERE for some non-Society coming events in the UK.
Members can click on grey buttons, for a Flierlier, and a  Summaryummary on some events.
2016
2017
Thur 25th February 2016
"Myanmar's Lost Royals"
by Alex Bescoby

Tues 29th March 2016

Dr Lee Jones
will talk about Myanmar's transition to disciplined democracy.
Thursday, 30th March 2017
Understanding Reform in Myanmar - People and Society in the Wake of Military Rule
by Professor MARIE LALL http://www.marielall.com
Thur 19th May 2016
  Peter Popham

will be talking about his new book "The Lady and the Generals"

Thursday 25 May 2017
 
Thur 23rd June 2016
Joe Woods

will be giving a talk on Maurice Collis.

Thursday 29 June 2017
Thur 28th July 2016
Yangon Echoes)
by Virginia Henderson and Tim Webster

Yangon Echoes welcomes readers behind the facades of Yangon's heritage buildings to offer intimate views of life in the cosmopolitan city.

An unprecedented work of oral history, Yangon Echoes is a rich anthology of fascinating life stories that explores notions and values of heritage and home. This popular history of buildings charts social space and urban folklore, linking past to present via living memories.

Thursday 30th July 2015
The Jews in Myanmar
- by Dr Saul Zadka
Saul Zadka visited Myanmar three years ago with the main intention of seeing the magnificent city of Bagan, but ended up with the discovery that two of his relatives are buried in the Jewish Cemetery of Yangon. Such a revelation led him to research the history of a tiny community that originated in Iraq during the second half of the 19th century in the footsteps of the British Empire.
 
Tues 4th Oct 2016
The October Reception
The evening will again be the occasion of our Annual General Meeting.

Myanmar entertainment will be provided by Htaik Yadana

Thursday 5 October 2017
Thur 17th Nov 2016
Dr Oliver Springate-Baginski
will be speaking on a topic to be announced later.

Tuesday 7 November 2017

2015-2016 Calendar.